Sherry Rehman elected chair of Senate panel on climate change

Islamabad: Senator Sherry Rehman was this week unanimously elected as the chairperson of the Senate Standing Committee on Climate Change.

Her nomination by Senator Qurratulain Marri was seconded by Senator Agha Shahzaib Durrani. In her acceptance speech, Senator Sherry Rehman expressed gratitude to her colleagues for their support and confidence in her leadership.

As the new chair, Sherry Rehman emphasised the urgency of addressing climate change, highlighting the critical position Pakistan holds in this global challenge. “I have chosen this committee because it is very close to my heart. Pakistan is at the forefront of the climate change crisis, and our goal is to raise climate issues,” she said.

“We are committed to ensuring that Pakistan’s climate policies are not only comprehensive but also effectively implemented,” she added. “Our collective efforts will be directed towards safeguarding our environment for future generations.”

The meeting was attended by Senator Qurratulain Marri, Senator Taj Haider, Senator Syed Shibli Faraz, Senator Bushra Anjum Butt and Senator Shahzaib Durrani.

Parliamentary leader of the Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz) in the Senate Senator Irfan Siddiqui was elected unopposed as the chairman of the Senate Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs.